Random Ramblings I

So, this week is tough for me in terms of college. Given that fact, I’m probably not going to write about anything seriously for this next week and I’m running on 5ish hours of sleep. So I’ll just put up some random views I have based on what I’ve seen anime-wise. So might appear later on in a “full-length” post:

  • So I just finished watching the Revolutionary Girl Utena TV series and movie for the first time. Overall, it’s really a unique piece of anime, and both works were very entertaining (the movie was like whoa). I’m just wondering why we haven’t seen more of Kunihiko Ikuhara since then? He seems like he can do some more nice stuff. :3
  • I also just finished Gankutsuou, and stylistically, it was amazing. However I didn’t really much of an investment in the characters, and because it seemed such a character-driven show, I feel disappointed in how things went. It’s still a pretty decent show.
  • Am I one of the few that doesn’t care that the 3 out of the 4 characters in Lucky Star are, to some extent, normal, or that the conversations they have are also “normal”?
  • The Gurren-Lagann fiasco has pissed me off. Both sides are in the wrong; GAINAX in allowing someone to make the comments about 2ch that they did and in what I think was overreaction by having Takami Akai stepping down, and 2ch for having it’s vocal majority sort of prove that the negative comments about them are true to such an extent. I have little to no idea how Japanese culture is, so I can’t complain about the unsanctioned letting off of steam or things like that, but it steams me the most because I feel that Gurren-Lagann will probably suffer because of this.
  • On a further note on the episode that brought the brouhaha among us, I watched episode 4 of Gurren-Lagann, and I had no problems with it save for Kamina lacking the force he usually did.😛 As I’ve mentioned before, I try not to have expectations (like with Lucky Star) so I can be surprised by what happens, usually in a good way. Well, episode 4 was very different, but by no means was it problematic to me. It’s good to step outside of the box for a bit.

To appease some people, a nice Yoko pic:

 D

5 Responses to “Random Ramblings I”


  1. 1 Ganaesh D. April 29, 2007 at 2:12 am

    Am I one of the few that doesn’t care that the 3 out of the 4 characters in Lucky Star are, to some extent, normal, or that the conversations they have are also “normal”?

    Nope, you’re not the only one. I like it as well. It’s so… refreshing, to watch an anime that has no big explosions, bouncing boobs, overpowered main characters, big-ass mechas, or a combination of any of the above.

    It’s calming.

  2. 2 Owen April 29, 2007 at 3:19 am

    >>Am I one of the few that doesn’t care

    You’re one of the few non-retarded, actually-using-your-mind, intelligent fans out there? Yeah, pretty much so. Also, you’re not alone, but you knew that. (:

    On a lighter note, my blogroll yielded yet another brainless comparison of Azumanga to Lucky Star today. Of course, when you choose to echo popular opinion without really looking at it objectively you’re just another empty vessel in the sea of opinion, but that never stopped anyone from blogging…

  3. 3 Danny Choo April 29, 2007 at 5:38 am

    I think many folks are taking the Gurren thing too seriously – its Anime – to be enjoyed.

  4. 4 Lainforce April 29, 2007 at 11:36 am

    If Takami Akai really let things like this get to him, he really needs to go into a different career.

    Take everything you hear with a grain of salt.

  5. 5 Shiro April 29, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Hopefully people can just enjoy episode 05, and forget all this ever happened — though i just wish that didn’t have to happen with Takami Akai.


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,291 hits

