Previews for summer 2007

By Nomadotto

Just finished watchin’ the previews for summer 2007. This is not a complete list, just a list of the things whose CM or Preview video I saw. Here’s the list, and the commentary.

Baccano: Gangsters in 1920’s Chicago. Looks pretty good, but has the potential to be quite disappointing, if they can’t keep the atmosphere of the time.

Code E: Revenge of the 1980’s. Not on my to-watch list. About a girl in high school with special powers.

Doujin Work: If you like Lucky Star, you’ll probably like this. Which is a shame, because it looks like crap. Low budget crap. Crap Crappier than Lucky Star. It’s about girls involved in making doujin, in case you haven’t guessed

More Higurashi: WHEEE. More Loli Head stab! More Shion/Mion! More crazy Rena! Better animation quality! What’s not to love?See, rena's excited too!

Mushi-uta: Could be interesting, but I doubt it. Kids with special powers battle one another. Bugs are involved. Not my thing

Nanatsuiro Drops: Harem Shit. Avoid!

Shiguri: Blood-spattered samurai action. A little too graphic for my tates (yes, even for me. Surprised?). Lots and lots of mangling.
Sky Girls: I like mechamusume, but this looks like it has neither enough mecha, nor enough musume for my tastes. I could be wrong though.

Tetsuko no Tabi: Not my thing. Comedy about a girl forced to travel.

Finally, my pick for the summer, which was not featured in the collection of preview vids that I saw:

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei: I could easily write a whole post about how awesome the manga is (so much wordplay! So much despair! Everything taken to infinity!) But the anime has a good shot at being equally awesome, even though it’s somewhat poorly suited for video format (homophones aren’t funny when spoken, and Kanji puns require a bit of explaination to get to work.) However, it’s done by Shaft, and so I think it has the possibility of success.

Until Next time, keep your phasers set to stun and your noses clean.

3 Responses to “Previews for summer 2007”


  1. 1 dm June 19, 2007 at 11:37 am

    However, it’s done by Shaft, and so I think it has the possibility of success.
    …and if not that, at least excess.

    Thanks for the run-down. Sounds like we’ll be watching a lot of the same things.

  2. 2 TheBigN June 20, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei: I could easily write a whole post about how awesome the manga is (so much wordplay! So much despair! Everything taken to infinity!)

    Do so. I’m definitely not stopping you on that.😛

    I haven’t been checking out what’s going to be showing this summer, but Zetsubou Sensei is definitely something I’ve had on my mind, and surprisingly Doujin Work, but that’s mainly because it’s a creation of “A cat is fine too” Hiroyuki, or so I think.😛 And I’d check out Higurashi season 2, if only to understand more about what was going on. The first series ended a bit confusingly.:/

    .When I get more time on the internets, I’ll see what else interests me.😛

  3. 3 nomadotto June 20, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Eh, I’ll write something about Zetsubou Sensei in a bit, for now, I need to work on other stuff. Also, I’m warning you now, I’ve recruited for the mission, and we’re going to make you go to otakon. Prepare yourself!


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,241 hits

