Motteke Remix’d Out

Only general curiosity would make be take a listen to a remix album just for an anime’s OP song. Given that I haven’t listened to that many anime-related remix albums save for the one for Manabi Straight character songs included with the first OST (better than the originals, IMO) and on a side note, many various works remixing Touhou music (which tends to be pretty solid/awesome), there hasn’t really been an impetus to just listen to those albums. And there are much better OPs for this purpose IMO than Lucky ☆ Star’s “Motteke! Serafuku”, a song which only really has the chorus (w/out the chanting), the bass line, and the opening animation working for it. However, based on the amount of fun Youtube videos of people doing things with it (A fave of mine remains the Megaman version. I want to find out where to get the 8-bit music for it. Great stuff.), I decided to take a listen to the remix album and see if there were any musical gems of ingenuity produced.

This cover makes it worth it to listen to. :3

Long story short… There weren’t, or at least no one song as a whole made me feel like I could listen to it repeatedly for a long time (keep in mind that the original would be grating if I ever decided to keep it on repeat). Jroxas has a nice review of the tracks on the album already, so I won’t be too specific here, meaning this should be a short post.

Each track tried to bring something new to the table remixwise, with varying degrees of success. I found that a lot of the tracks did things in a way that worked for me, only to sour it by adding something that didn’t need to be added, changing the key where it didn’t need to be changed (I like the minor tone of the chorus thank you very much!), or keeping the annoying, annoying speaking loud voices. Which means that if you took parts from every song an spliced them together, you would probably get one really kickass remix, and that would be fun to make. Of the songs though, my favorite would probably be the Matsuri Mix!, and it does help that Minoru contributes in that one. Another piece to listen to would be the Seishun orz Mix, but its still not something to write home about. But what do I know? (What do I know? I know…)

Motteke! Sailor Fuku Re-Mix 001 -7 Burning Remixes- isn’t a bad album by means, but I wish that there was some more originality while retaining what made the original song good. I do know by the end of the album, I was wondering why they didn’t add the 8-bit version of the song in there in some way. Seriously. That was awesome. :3

4 Responses to “Motteke Remix’d Out”


  1. 1 emmyriceball August 14, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    I like remixes most of the time. (I listened to a Lucky Star OP remix on youtube quite a number of times in a row. Hey, maybe it’s the one on here.) I’ll have to check out the CD. :3

    And the cover is pretty awesome. x3

  2. 2 Mari August 22, 2007 at 2:58 am

    There’s a MID and WMV version of that Rockman Hare Hare Yukai video.

    http://www.geocities.jp/seramikarutitan/01_movie/02_hareharer2.htm

  3. 3 Mari August 22, 2007 at 3:01 am

    Oh, right, wordpress won’t let you post URL’s😄

    If you google geocities seramikarutitan, the second result should be the original hare hare rockman video, wmv and mid versions included.

  4. 4 TheBigN August 22, 2007 at 7:46 am

    emmyriceball: It is, isn’t it? ^^

    Mari: Thanks for the link. :3


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,207 hits

