I Think I Really Might Know What It’s Like To Be Najimi

Finishing up the Doujin Work anime (nothing special, but a decent watch), I was wondering what could have been had the show incorporated more of Hiroyuki’s brand of humor into it. But it’s better to think of what is rather than “what if’s” I guess, even if they do bring some iota of hope into our lives. While on that train of thought though, one thing that I remember from the manga was that compared to the anime, characters are more expressive (and I think that’s a give and take of the respective mediums in general, but that’s another side note). One strong example the manga is how our heroine Najimi feels when people start to check out the doujin she’s written. Never mind the fact that the doujin was apparently bad, but the way she reacts, the reader would think that she has her life staked out on that copy. A sort of mortified happiness occurs, as I think the following panels show:

Granted, my blog isn’t as ero as this, but you get the idea. :P

It’s that sort of thing that I think would make the Doujin Work anime better, maybe because it makes it more… relatable to the viewers (there’s that nasty word again).  Or at least relatable to myself, that is. Thinking about that, in a way, I’m like Najimi in that sense with this blog here. While this isn’t my job of my life’s worth by any means, I feel like I’m putting myself out every time I post something out here. I wonder if what I write makes an impact, but even before that, I nervously contemplate: “Have people read it? What do they think? Should I have done that?” I’m thinking these things even with this post right now :P).

I guess the good thing about it is that I made an effort to not half-ass what’s here, and I try my best to put what in my head out here in a way that makes sense to those of you reading it. And I do feel satisfied when I see people taking a look, but I feel more satisfied when I realize that I put something out that people want to take a look at, that I just put something out that I’m proud of in the first place. And I think that might be the take home message from Doujin Work as Najimi realizes that she has fun making doujinshi, and that’s what matters. Or at least that’s what I took out of it.

Now then, does this picture look like it’s drawn by Aoki Ume of Hidamari Sketch fame to you, or am I off by a large amount?

The doujin work anime had its moments, like this. :P

3 Responses to “I Think I Really Might Know What It’s Like To Be Najimi”


  1. 1 lolikitsune October 11, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    I don’t know who drew that last picture but Tsuyuri doesn’t look Tsuyuri enough in it.

  2. 2 Owen October 14, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Ah, the feeling that creators go through. I suppose whether we’re composing songs, drawing pictures, or writing words, there’s always a common thread of feeling linking them all. Although I wasn’t expecting this to be a metablogging post.😛

  3. 3 TheBigN October 15, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Owen: If an idea pops in my head, I usually just go with it. Funny how things become as they are.😛


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,213 hits

