Vintage Cheese in Fall 2007

Written by TheBigN

I think I might be getting close to my fill of the dairy product for this year from these fall shows. And no, I’m not thinking about Moyashimon here (see what I did there?). So far, three shows that I’m watching have worked the idea in different ways.

Shion no Ou has that classic unintentional cheese factor inherent in board game anime and normal sports anime such as Hikaru no Go (at least the early episodes) and Princess Nine. It helps when you don’t understand what’s going on in this type (as is the case with me here), since you become more of a passive, and less critical observer if that’s what you’re looking for. Here we have the characters being overly dramatic and solemn about a board game (never mind the whole mystery part of it), and we get great metaphors about shougi matches being a love letters (placing their whole feelings out on the board, the love for the game, trust in the heart of the pieces, etc.), our main character being threatened over competing in a tournament, and of course the usual “playing when they’re in bad shape” cliche in just the first four episodes. Even though were supposed to take it very seriously as it’s more than a game to those involved, everything’s too over the top that you can help but find everything unintentionally funny. It’s a fun watch for me besides that, but it’s always nice to note that extra thing that can make a show special to you, even if you haven’t seen much of it (Uo! Mabushii!).

If one could use shougi to kill, she could do it.

Bamboo Blade seems more like a cheese puff kind of thing to me so far. The show knows that it’s premise, as well as how the story unfolds is going to be cheesy, and they’ll run with it. From Tamaki already aspiring to be a hero of justice (which is usually what the main character of these stories tends to become after a while) to Coach Ishida already realizing that his initial rationale for assembling his female squad sucks, the show seems to be already moving past the oft used clichés and possibly into some really good meat later on. Because we also already know that the cheese flows here as things like Blade Braver and the sentai team metaphor won’t let us forget it, Bamboo Blade becomes easier to enjoy and work with. Everything isn’t too blunt, but neither is it very sharp either, hitting that middle ground with ease. Or something like that. Kirino and Tamaki are awesome regardless, though MiyaMiya seems a bit forced at the moment.😛

Sentai team anime. I recommend Shinesman. :P

And then we have the pure cheesecake with Goshuushou-sama Ninomiya-kun. Mmm… cheesecake. Too much is too fattening for us (though this fanservice isn’t really that filling), but luckily, it hasn’t hit that stride yet. At the same time romance parts like the childhood promises are too sappy, and add more of the congealed stuff than is needed. But then again, I’m not watching it for the story, though I’m sorta ashamed to admit that. :3

No pics for Ninomiya-kun either, since I’m too embarrassed to do so. Instead, lets go with another random theme. Cheese of another kind, one could say:

As always, everything’s better with more Touhou. Who do you think they are?

5 Responses to “Vintage Cheese in Fall 2007”


  1. 1 Totali November 7, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    I think the only reason I am even blogging Ninomiya is because of the ridiculous amount of expectations I had before it was airing and the strange fact that I feel like I must watch every love comedy under the sun. It’s just so bad….but we’re still all watching it. sigh…..

    Bamboo Blade is a very fun show to watch this season, and quite underrated. All of the characters are really fun, and it’s just nice to have a light hearted show to take a load off with.

    Shion no Ou? Haven’t watched it yet….it just looked so out there. I know I will end up marathoning it some day though…heh.

  2. 2 Owen November 8, 2007 at 6:49 am

    I feel relieved to find that I’m only having 1/3rd of cheese as my, uh, anime diet this season. lol. Very interesting way of putting it though, I’ll grant you that.

  3. 3 manga November 8, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Ninomiya started out quite fun. With Mayu arriving and so, but then quickly fell to a fanservice only show. Hopefully episode 6 will bring in some more laughter since it has been way to much fanservice and way to less story progression.

    And I´ve yet to watch all shows. Sucks having less and less free time…

  4. 4 j.valdez November 8, 2007 at 11:25 am

    I simply stay away from shows that I know are based on games. They usually don’t appeal to me.

    Some of the best anime is rather cheesy IMHO. There is a fine line of cheesiosity between being endearing and not so much, though.

    Also, I came here expecting cheese pics.

  5. 5 TheBigN November 8, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Totali: Bamboo Blade has been a nice surprise for me this season too, as I love most of the characters already.

    Owen: I tried. I might do this again later, since it’s a way for me to blow off stress.😛

    manga: Episode 5 showed an interesting turn of events, and hopefully they continue with that vein.

    j.valdez: But of course. The cheese is where it’s at a lot of the time, but there’s always a tipping point, as you’ve said. Then it detracts from the show, and frankly becomes to unhealthy.

    I was thinking of doing that sort of thing with cheese pics, so it might appear later on if I feel like it. I’m quite partial to provolone myself :3


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,181 hits

