I Am BigN, or Random Ramblings: 2nd Edition

Written by TheBigN

Alright everyone!

Me being lazy to think up a reasonable (or so I’d like to think) topic + running on three hours of sleep after an essay (“I’m tired”, I said, “You always look tired”, she said) + studying for the final exam before winter break = ?

Cha ra raaaaaaaaaan~ MORE RAMBLINGS (\o/)! Lets begin, I guess.

I feel like I spend too much time on the internet sometimes, so I wish someone could do this for me every once in a while to get my head in the game.

 

  • So, partly because of Owen, as well as partly because it was just laying there for a couple of months, I have my MAL set up with as much as I can remember. It’s a much more easier interface to work with IMO than AnimeSeen (I still love you though) or what they do at the Anime News Network (But if you like more to your list, that’s fine too), so if you have the time and patience, I’d say it’s a good call to at least organize your anime viewing thoughts. MyAnimeList also touts itself as having a community aspect to it that reminds me of Facebook, only not as… intrusive (though if you don’t want stuff about brought up for all the world to see, don’t put it up there. Common sense, right?). Would you say that it helps foster an anime community, with it’s forums, comparisons of lists, self made blogs, and all that jazz? I’d say that it’s a step up from just ping/trackbacking, and you do get to know more about your fellow anime fan, but I don’t know how effective this will be in the long run. At the moment, it’s at least fun distraction, like a lot of anime is (oh shi-).
  • Speaking of Mr. Zaitcev, Yes there’s more Hidamari on the way, because if ANN (the news portion, not necessarily the commentators) says it, it’s probably true. And I’m being serious. ._. Though you probably knew about that already.😛
  • And with yet another improbable seque, ANN brings to us another open letter on fansubbing. I actually like that some numbers are being brought up for the anime industry, and how things have changed over time, though sources for said numbers would be fine to. Mr. Smith’s view is kind of iffy with the whole “correlation = causation” thing, but I’m sure that people already knew this. It does seem like the whole situation focuses on how to make anime more profitable for all of the people involved. How do we do that? Hell if I know. But I think continuing to learn a bit more about the demographics that watch anime, e.g. their preferences in viewing shows (Do they watch fansubs? TV? DVDs? All of the above? None of the above? Remember, choose the best answer. :3) or genres (Will viewers be able to watch things outside of their comfort zone? If so, how?) , would be a nice start. But where do we go from here (you know I’m not the only one that thinks that :P)?

I’m sure the joke has been made before, but I’d like to see how big Sue’s drill is. Take that anyway you want to. :P

  • Now something blog related: We’re coming up to the end of the year, and doing this continues to be fun, though the feeling the “urg” (someone catches the reference?) to post every so often can be kind of annoying. So in 10 months, Drastic’s a member of the 50K+ hit club and almost a member of the 80+ post and 500 + comments clubs, if there are any. And no, neither I nor Nomad used illegal substances to get here (</intentional bad joke>). Those stats have exceeded my expectations back when I started this thing, and it will be fun to see how high it will go. P.S. Expect some “Year in Review” related posts in the coming weeks, how little they are left in the year.
  • And for one last point, I think the remake of I Am Legend is coming out today, and it something that I’m tempted to watch, though I’ve heard the horror sort of cheapens the movie while Will Smith saves it (since watching it for Will was the point anyway, this bodes good for me). What does this have to do with anime? In a preview I read for the movie, the columnist noted how well the director portrayed a Manhattan that’s empty let still alive. This statement kinda reminded me of something. In this case, it would be an interesting look as to how someone would cope surviving something akin to close to the end of humanity, you know, before the feelings of inevitability and waiting for the end to come occur. So this pre-YKK idea that suddenly pops into my head makes my desire to watch the movie stronger than before. You see where I’m going with this right?

Yes. Alpha Is Legend.

 

Hopefully I have the chance to see I Am Legend soon.

And with that,

Cha ra ran~ so ends this round of ramblings.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “I Am BigN, or Random Ramblings: 2nd Edition”


  1. 1 0rion December 14, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    “I Am BigN, hear me ROAR!” xD

    Also congrats on doing well with your blog. It’s always a lot of fun to read, I especially like your article titles. :3

  2. 2 Totali December 14, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    Ugh everyone switching to MAL and I have yet to find the energy to feel like updating mine.

    I’m looking forward to the Year in Review and this blog’s anniversary in a month!

  3. 3 Owen December 14, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Thank you for recommending MAL, much appreciated.😀 You were right about how easy it was to add series, even more than AnimeSeen (but we will always love your little invention, guru, lol).

    Btw, I’m not following the Genshiken anime, although I am reading the manga. Is that a Kamina reference in that screenshot?

  4. 4 TheBigN December 14, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Ori0n: I try, but I don’t think my titles are that good. I’m glad they work for you though.😛

    Totali: It’s so easy, it’s so right, it’s so easy, to rock it all night!
    Don’t expect much with the Year in Review though.😛 And the blog anniversary is in February, so there’s still a couple of days to go.

    Owen: I don’t think it is, but as I did, people can make it so. :3

  5. 5 nomadotto December 15, 2007 at 3:23 am

    Whoa man, MAL looks criz-zazy. I might need to get me in on some of that. Also, I’m surprised that we’ve been doing so well in the crowded field of Anime Blogs, maybe we’ll even come close to Shingo’s illustrious level.

    Anyway, I’m happy with the direction(s) that the blog is/has been taking, and I’ll try to get something up about either Black Lagoon or Cloth Road in the near future.

    If this comment doesn’t make must sense, it’s because it’s late at night, the day that finals ended, after a couple of “beverages,” designed to help me forget the horror of the awful proof I wrote.

    -Cheers from Your Partner in Crime

  6. 6 21stcenturydigitalboy December 15, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    lol, wow you MAL account has high compatability with mine to the point of .80 whatever that means. Your top 5 is beautiful.


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,207 hits

