PRRROMOTIONS!

Written by TheBigN

Three different types of them, to be exact. :3

First off, as already mentioned by others, a contest is going on from Tokyopop where the goal is to make an awesome music video using music and kits that the company provided. I’m always a fan of putting your own spin onto “common” things (one of the reasons I started this blog of course), and this sounds like a fun idea for those interested in this. Of course, I would think that the video iPod makes for a great incentive as well. :3

Now, Onto That Loosely Related Segue…

Something special from the heart.

Episode 9 of ARIA The ORIGINATION has been the most powerful episode of anything that I’ve watched this season, and probably in a while. 90% of that is due to the amount of familiarity I’ve built up with the undines and you can say that it’s really just a continuation on where The ANIMATION and NATURAL left off, so it isn’t fair to the “fully” new shows this season. But I think it says something about how there have only been a couple of shows that have made me go “WOW” this season, and how even despite that, by just being simple, ARIA can trump everything else for me. Of course, that also says something about my preferences when watching anime.😛

And because of that familiarity, I’m going to be really sad when ORIGINATION is over, as it seems that the show is matching up with the end of the ARIA manga as well. Especially because this season of episodes has been the best yet, in my opinion. It’s been interesting to see much more of a focus on the undines themselves instead of the wonder that is Neo-Venezia, but it makes a lot of sense. I initially got hooked by the magical (you can’t really use any other word for it) world, but I stayed for the interactions between the characters. After all, it was Akari and her wonderful world view that made Neo-Venezia the mystical, ethereal and beautiful city that it is on Aqua, and that created the bonds she shares with her friends and with us watching from the screen. I got to know a variety of engaging personalities, and grew to love them as they themselves grew from their adventures and explorations of the world.

But I guess you could say for me, ARIA is one of those things that you love so much, you have to let them go. There are four episodes left, and I can’t wait for them to come soon enough, but I’m also sad because of what they signify as far as we know. It’s been a spectacular ride, and I would hate to see it end “so soon”.😛

(On a side note, how come I haven’t seen any ARIA-related Touhou pics out there? Surely there must be some… :/)

This, my friends, is the money shot. See Manabi.

Finally, there has been a series of awards set up for anime blogs, where input comes from the anime bloggers themselves. That is, those that have an anime blog can nominate others (thankfully, not for themselves) that they think fit one of the specific categories available. I think it’s good to have a nice little pat on the back from your own peers, so I’d strongly encourage people participate. It is one of the first times that I think the animeblogosphere has really done something for themselves like this, so comments and critiques are obviously welcome to make sure that these accolades aren’t a one time thing. I hope that in their own way, these awards help to expand the community, highlighting anime blogs that have done much already, blogs that hold great promise, and the up-and-comers that are slowly staking their own fortunes on the web.

I guess all I can say to all of these happenings going on is MASSUGU GO!

She agrees.

6 Responses to “PRRROMOTIONS!”


  1. 1 RunningKid March 20, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    It seems like origination is going to bring Aria to a close as a series T___T

    But I guess you could say for me, ARIA is one of those things that you love so much, you have to let them go

    Sad truth… T___T

  2. 2 21stcenturydigitalboy March 25, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    *didn’t notice that I couldn’t nominate myself and did anyway* oshit…

    Anywho BigN I nominated yall for the best team blog since the combo of you and nomad has always been interesting and educational in a way. love the idea of the contest!

  3. 3 roast-beefy-weefs March 25, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I’m going to require myself to buy and read that Aria manga after Origination ends, because I really don’t know how I’m going to handle the show’s absence.

    Also, I just realized that I’m literally nominating the exact same blogs in every category that Wildarmsheero did.

  4. 4 TheBigN March 26, 2008 at 6:54 am

    digitalboy: Thanks for the nod, though it’s not necessary.😛

    rbw: I already have the first three volumes from ADV, but I’m tempted to start from scratch with TokyoPop again just because.😛
    And are you worried that you’re closer to wah than you’d like to be?😛

  5. 5 roast-beefy-weefs March 26, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Actually noticed a printing mistake on the third Tokyopop volume when I looked at it in Barnes and Noble. If I remember correctly, each volume had a thumbnail of Akari’s face on the side binding, depicting whatever expression she was making on the front cover, which is something Tokyopop does a lot. Yet for some reason, v3 had v2’s picture on the side. I want to find people who own them and see if this was just an issue with that one book, or if they’re all like that. It’s no big deal, but it set off my OCD :V


  1. 1 Omonomono » Newsbot Time Trackback on March 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm

Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,234 hits

