My Belated, Truncated and Badly Pixelated Remembrances on Katsucon 15

By TheBigN

I feel like I’ve been spoiled in a way by having Otakon as my first ever convention. Not to the point that I can’t enjoy smaller conventions, but in terms of the “experience” of it all. While Katsucon was fun, there weren’t as many things that I wanted to do there activity or panel-wise, not as many people that I knew were going and could hang out with (though I still missed some, sadly), and so on. So, while I paid for and could have spent the whole weekend at the convention, I only went on Friday and Saturday, which still made for a fulfilling Katsucon for me and should make for a short post here. And thanks to a recently acquired cellphone, I managed to get some pretty poor quality pics of the event and of some cosplay that I found interesting and that I could work up courage to ask the wearers to take pictures, which was much easier said than done. But on to the post~

Pime Taradox.

Pime Taradox.

So on Friday after classes (the rare days that end at noon are wonderful, BTW), I caught the Metro down to Crystal City station.  As always, I tagged along with people who looked like they’re going to an anime convention (harder than it looks :P), taking the shuttle to the hotel where the convention was set for this year. Getting there, it looked like there was a short line of people for admission, where from my memories of Otaku USA last year made me assume that the registration table was pretty close to the entrance. I suddenly remembered that I went on a Saturday to that convention, as the line at this current point in time swung and twisted around the first floor interior once I got in. All in all, it took about 2 and a half hours in a line for both prereg and at-doors for me to finally get my pass, while my good college friend shows that as the day went on, the line became even longer. I was a little unnecessarily miffed that even though I preregged, the at-door line was quicker to get through, but what can you do?

Once inside, I had nothing much to do, since the person I was supposed to meet was still in transit once I got my badge. So I walked through the featured guests area (I really do need to work on being too shy to drop by a table and say hey to these people, who took time to come to the convention partly to greet fellow con goers) and then to the Merchant’s Room, which had a decent amount of stuff I was interested in, and I spent the rest of my short day there. As I left, the line was longer at the entrance then when I was there, and which made meeting my friend and an acquaintance of his in that line a little bittersweet since we couldn’t do anything at that time.

I would assume that digitalboy would crap his pants over this. It's an epic combination.

I would assume that digitalboy would crap his pants over this. It's an epic combination.

Traveling on Saturday was a little fun, since rail service in between my route shut down some stations along the way, making the trip to and fro a little longer as buses shuttled between those stations. This made me miss one panel that I was interested in, so when I arrived at the hotel, my day started how it ended, in the Merchant’s Room. I managed to grab some more stuff and chatted it up with one of the staffers for the Hendane booth.  That was all thanks to a post-it note covering unmentionables on a body pillow cover containing words uttered by said staff member in a video about some random guys watching the Touhou anime checking for English subtitle accuracy (funny the way things can connect us in this world :3). Afterwards, I met up with my friend and his acquaintance, and had some nice lunch at a nearby Chili’s, then went back to the convention to browse around for a bit. However, our meeting and catching up was short-lived, as I had plans to head to FUNimation’s panel as the main event that I’d come to the convention for.

It has been two weeks, so my memories of the panel are fuzzy, but I do remember that the company’s going stronger than ever despite the pains taken with the current economic woes. And that they still have a lot of sets and series planned for release and re-release during the year (like Kenichi The Mightiest Disciple, Shigurui in bloody and bone-breaking Blu-ray no less, Love Hina, and so on…), which is good for people who need to see proof that the US anime industry still lives on. And as for the licenses announced during the panel, I was pretty psyched about the Bamboo Blade license and was pleased with the Tower of Druaga license, though disappointed about being one of like three people who cheered for the shows. Blassreiter has received overall favorable reviews, so I might partake of that in the future, and I fought hard not to laugh out loud (disrupting the audience and panel isn’t good) at the Dragonaut license. Granted, I’ve only heard about how bad the show was and haven’t seen it for myself, so I’m not giving the show a fair shot for myself. Damned if I watched it before other shows on my backlog and beyond, though. All in all (I’m sure an English teacher is cringing somewhere), the panel was well worth attending to me.

Only Sheryl cosplayer I saw. I think there is more to this one than meets the eye.

Only Sheryl cosplayer I saw. I think there is more to this one than meets the eye.

After that, besides one last trip through the Merchant’s Room and a quick perusal through the Gaming Room, that was about it for my Katsucon 15 experience.  I felt like I already got what I needed from Friday and Saturday, so going on Sunday wouldn’t have done anything for me. If there was one thing I learned from this trip, it was probably to start expanding my curiosity a little bit more. There wasn’t a lot of panels or events that grabbed my attention at the convention, but that doesn’t mean that I should have just ignored everything else, especially if I got bored roaming around. And I need to work on overcoming my shyness a little more, as it still feels too awkward for me to even go up to a guest and just shake their hand and greet them, or to ask a cosplayer if I can take a picture of their efforts. I feel like I should be more in my anime comfort zone at an anime convention than anywhere else, but I find once again that I still need to open up more for this to occur. While Katsucon was a fun experience, it could have been better if I tried harder. But enough about that. Here’s some badly pixelated loot.

From top to bottom, left to right: The three ARIA artbooks, Banner of the the Stars I collection, Queen of Heart 2001: Party's Breaker, Yamamoto Yohko OVA, Combutler Hayate vol 10, Tetragrammaton Labyrinth volumes 3 and 4, Black Lagoon vol 4. Also grabbed: Oban Star-Racers vol 1 and 2.

From top to bottom, left to right: The three ARIA artbooks, Banner of the the Stars I collection, Queen of Heart 2001: Party's Breaker, Yamamoto Yohko OVA, Combutler Hayate vol 10, Tetragrammaton Labyrinth volumes 3 and 4, Black Lagoon vol 4. Also grabbed: Oban Star-Racers vol 1 and 2.

17 Responses to “My Belated, Truncated and Badly Pixelated Remembrances on Katsucon 15”


  1. 1 TheBigN March 3, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    roast-beefy: I’d never be that confident enough to do that. And I feel like I need to actually see the show first before I did that. :V

    digitalboy: Yeah, where size in terms of things to do was another reason why I felt like I’ve been spoiled by Otakon being my first experience.😛

    ghostlightning: I figured you’d get what I was talking about. For what it’s worth, it’s still a good cosplay.😛

    dai1313: The thing is, it just gets closer to me next year. :3

  2. 2 nomadotto March 3, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    You got a copy of queen of heart 2001: party’s breaker?!?!? Holy crap, I’ve been looking for a copy of that for years? Is there something I can trade you for it?

  3. 3 omisyth March 4, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Reasons for the Dragonuat license: BOOBS SELL ANIME. ‘Nuff said.

  4. 4 TheBigN March 5, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    nomadotto: Given that I found it at the Hendane booth, I’d say before you have to do that, you should check out their website (when it’s up) to see if they have it in stock. Though when I bought it, I did think to myself “I wonder if nomad has a copy yet of this.”😛

    omisyth: Yeah, that was was the spokesman for FUNimation used as his reason as well.😛

  5. 5 Francisco March 5, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    The cosplayers were awesome. Although i don’t really from which anime they are. But they still look good.🙂

  6. 6 Zeroblade March 11, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Holy crap, Alpha, Stella, and Cielo want (´Д`)

  7. 7 Jesus159159159 March 12, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    WHOA! Is that Waldo and Carmen Sandiego?!?!? *blush* I bet you were all over her huh?😀

    and I need to work on overcoming my shyness a little more, as it still feels too awkward for me to even go up to a guest and just shake their hand and greet them, or to ask a cosplayer if I can take a picture of their efforts.

    dude, just whip out ur black snake, that should clear up everything. Like, you need to keep dem hoes in line yo! CHEA CHEA!!! HOLLAAAA-*gets shot*

    hmm, but yea, I doubt ur as shy as I am. In fact, my shyness most definitely pwns yours, as I would NEVER have the courage to go to one of these conventions.

    and that Sheryl… theres something peculiar about her… *uses the DRAGON BALL RADAR* *DING DING DING* OHHH!!! WELL THAT CLEARS UP EVERYTHING!!! *runs away*

    :3


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,252 hits

