Generic New Haruhi Post #286

By TheBigN

(sorry nekosasu. :P)

Okay, I’ll admit that even more new The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi is nice to see. The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi-chan was more than enough for me, and I’ll definitely be missing those and the Nyoro~n Churuya-san short episodes, but now that there apparently are more episodes related to the first series coming down the pipe, I’m not complaining at all. At the same time, I’m not going to lie; I would have really enjoyed seeing the reaction if the accidental leak about “Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody” turned out to be false. When I see how some people get a little too obsessed with something (myself included), it’s nice to have some cold water moments to keep us a little more grounded, I think.

It would be nice if Mikuru willingly took Haruhi up on this offer on the bed.

It would be nice if Mikuru willingly took Haruhi up on this offer on the bed.

One thing that makes me lol though is the lack of Kadokawa RAEGing that was present before this episode came out now. There’s still some, but I guess since people are getting their Haruhi fix right now, there’s no need to criticize the sadists and evil dictators over at Kadokawa. As anime fans, I guess we’re all masochists in a way, but there’s something to be said for the dedication of all of the fans in this case who are rapturous right now. Glad to see the Haruhi fans of that level finally get that ecstastic and glorious release, but I guess I wish it was a little cleaner?😛

Two other things:

1. The comparisons between Haruhi and K-On! as if they were literally fighting each other piss me off , and it’s probably something that I really shouldn’t be getting worked up over. But when I read that sort of message in posts, I think to myself “Why should it matter as long as you enjoy either/both show(s)?”, and I see others have the same question. I mean, we all know that the winner of this “duel” set up is KyoAni.

2. The posts that are so hating on Haruhi and the show’s fans that overdo it to the point where it seems like they’re just trying to be cool/counterculture on purpose are lol. Calm down, guys.

Haruhi has something to say to those people who can not calm down.

Haruhi has something to say to those people who can not calm down.

18 Responses to “Generic New Haruhi Post #286”


  1. 1 TheBigN May 25, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Ryan A: I just wish I could have seen those exploded heads in person. I talked with some of them though.😛

    animekritik: Hypocritical masochists we are. :3

    Kaioshin Sama: The experience and enthusiasm is fun to watch. But when the loudest voices are “Our Goddess Has Returned!” and “Everything Haruhi-Related Sucks”, it can be a bit much. There’s no need to sound condescending about either side, though.

    nekosasu:😦

    X10A_Freedom: Pretty much.

    dm00: I was initially also planning to tag this post with K-On!, but for some reason I forgot too. It’s there now.

    And it really is hard not to say that Haruhi could be considered a very important anime in terms of the time we’re in now considering how strong the fanbase still is for it.

    otou-san: I agree. So far, it looks like people haven’t felt let down by what they’ve seen. I just worry that some might expect it to be the best thing since sliced bread, but I haven’t seen too much of that.

    phossil: That they are, and because they seem to focus on and aim for different things, comparing them in a “who will win” sort of way seems a bit too much. ^^;

  2. 2 animekritik May 26, 2009 at 1:27 am

    @otou-san

    That might be the greatest thing about the Bamboo Leaf episode, it wasn’t altered to fit the expectations or the hype. KyoAni simply did what it had to.

  3. 3 MrMayat May 26, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Wha’? It’s out?

    Thanks for not giving out any spoilers BigN. I’ll just wait till the fanboy/girl-ing dies down and marathon it, just like Lucky Star, which I just finished watching in its entirety.😛

  4. 4 Jesus159159159 May 29, 2009 at 1:11 am

    might expect it to be the best thing since sliced bread

    But BigN, it IS the best thing since sliced bread, and if you don’t choose a side soon I’ll *fanboy hat off* *shakes head* Whoa! Where am I?! =3

    While I do like (more like love) both shows, I sorta wonder how things would be if KyoAni were only doing one show. Its pretty amazing that they can pull off two great shows at the same time, but then again, they should be super rich and have tons of staff to pull it off :p

  5. 5 lelangir May 29, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Mio is like teh Mikurun ’cause there both shyyyyyyyy!~`

    but den Mio is like Kyon cuz there both logical!!!

    AHHHH IM SOOOOOOOOOOOOoOOoooOOooO confused

    no, Haruhi NOT

  6. 6 moritheil June 26, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Ah, but Haruhi is some peoples’ reason for existing . . . nyoro~n.

    Reading this post in light of the current Plot Shield / Colony Drop rumble is quite interesting. You’ve really hit it on the head: when the fandom is divided, how shall anyone stand against KyoAni?

  7. 7 JTFish June 27, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Ryan A: When does the new episode come out?!

  8. 8 generic January 29, 2010 at 7:18 am

    I think I’m in love with Haruhi🙂


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,247 hits

