You’re going to have to carry all that weight, Yui.

By TheBigN

I’m definitely not the first to find and link to this K-On! MAD (yes, I know some of you are probably saying “Not another one.”, but meh), but I think it’s an awesome combo enough that it needs more exposure.

Coming off the recent episode, I’ve also found that whenever KyoAni tries to add in some melodrama to the show, like in this previous episode with Ritsu and two episodes ago when Azusa was wondering if the club was where she really belonged and stuff, it comes off as awkward to me. Not bad, but awkward. Some of it is probably due to me reading the source material beforehand (which will make me really enjoy this next and last broadcasted episode), but I also think that a certain pace/feeling has been set for K-On!, so breaking it up is a little disorienting. Granted, Ritsu’s situation was much more so than Azusa’s which made sense given here character, but to me it was still noticeable.

And as for the series ending broadcast next week, if there’s more K-On!, that would be nice, but it definitely wouldn’t be nice to see the overzealous fans and detractors (especially the “bandwagon hater” types) come with it. Just saying.😛

I've been tired for a while myself.

I've been tired for a while myself.

17 Responses to “You’re going to have to carry all that weight, Yui.”


  1. 1 Shin June 18, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    After so long, I’m still unable to care about Ritsu. Heck, even Tsumugi whom I figured I wouldn’t like is now slowly winning me over.

  2. 2 Sheba June 20, 2009 at 5:03 am

    The “Bandwagon hater” clique that have been throwing bait in blogs and forums for instant attention and gratification are a part of the reason why I stopped going in this part of Asuki.

    I think they have totally missed the point of K-on, firstly for never reading the original material, because it would waste their Ô so precious time.

    K-on never intended to be the moe and musical version of Campbell’s “Hero’s Journey” or a SERIOUS BUSINESS social commentary as some people so wanted it to be /eyeroll. Then they just hammered their expectations as if it should be the sole and true purpose of the series/genre/anime as a media that it became disgusting and disheartening.

    There are ways to express one’s opinion and crticism. Unfortunately, some of those who did it had done it in a tactless and tasteless way, no better than the denizens of a certain imageboard.

    PS: tl;dr, they almost managed to kill my enjoyment of the hobby. Thanksfully, Guin Saga and Haruhi S2 are here, Canaan and Umineko are coming.

  3. 3 TheBigN June 20, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Shin: Knowing you, she never was really going to cater to your tastes, so oh well. Maybe if she was a trap, it would help her in your eyes.

    Sheba: It was annoying to see it on both sides really, and that’s what I try to convey in these posts. While it wouldn’t stop me from enjoying the anime, it does make me feel like I’m caring much more than I should about the people who watch it (or don’t watch it) as well. And I feel like I need to chill.

    And congratulation! You’ve scored the 2000th comment on this blog.😛

  4. 4 firstother June 22, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    It always bewilders me how people can recreate studio animation like this MAD. They did a nice job.

  5. 5 one piece July 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Really well made video. As someone commented on the Youtube page, Cowboy Bebop has the best opening ever.

    Since the manga is ongoing, I hope they continue K-On! with a second season.


  1. 1 Reblogging de Wordpress, sí claro. Cuéntame una de vaqueros « 『Le Petit Jardin』 2.0 Trackback on June 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,226 hits

