Cut Out A Slice and Put A Spin On It

By TheBigN

So, following Stripey’s lead, I’ll list my top 5 favorite anime at this moment:

  1. Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight
  2. Haibane Renmei
  3. Kino’s Journey
  4. Aria The Origination
  5. Hidamari Sketch

I find it’s more fun to find out what others think compared to my own opinion  in cases like these (un”my”ased opinion and all that), so if you care, what do you think this list says about me? What do you think this list doesn’t say about me that would still be true, if this question makes sense?

My mind's still somewhere else right now. Sorry for the trouble.

Miyako's Journey

19 Responses to “Cut Out A Slice and Put A Spin On It”


  1. 1 miz October 29, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Wow… TBN.. >_< the anime series I cannot relate at all.. I wrote an entry on Yoroshiku/Shitstorm, but that will be slightly delayed.. but yep…. with the exception of Aria,, I only watched a bit of Haibane Renmei… ahh well. ^_^ anime fans are pretty different ne?

  2. 2 Asian Ed October 30, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Hmm… I’m noticing a pattern here… Mostly slice of life, and then topped with a healthy dose of moe.😄

    I guess you could say that I have several “top 5” lists, though none of them really coincide with each other too much. If you look at what I collect (in terms of figures), then you’d probably miss on some of my favorite series.

    My top 5 series to collect figures from:
    1. Fate/Stay Night
    2. Gurren Lagann (mostly because of one chracter, I’ll let you guess which one)
    3. Suzumiya Haruhi no Yutsuu
    4. ARIA
    5. Aa! Megami-sama

    Now, my favorite series of all time is a slightly different list…
    1. Aa! Megami-sama
    2. Shakugan no Shana
    3. ARIA
    4. Tenchi Muyo!
    5. Noir

    Wow, I’m a real sucker for some of the more classics, aren’t I…? ^.^;;

  3. 3 TheBigN October 30, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    dm00: Rock on. I find that I need a little work on what I decide to recommend to others, but there’s always more experience to be had.

    Kabitzin: But given Manabi’s goals, this rule totally is opposite in that sense.

    Jesus159159159: It’s hard man.

    miz: I think that’s an important point. And that’s why suggestions can be fun.

    Asian Ed: The funny thing is, moe isn’t something that I directly pay attention to when watching the show, so it’s a sidenote more than anything else. But just remember that it was you who turned me onto shows with Slice of Life elements, you know.😛

    • 4 Asian Ed October 30, 2009 at 8:35 pm

      Yes, but I claim no responsibility for the Moe factor.😉 Besides, I only introduced you to one (maybe two) of those: Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou and ARIA. You must claim responsibility for the other factors that crept into your favorites. Perhaps some unconscious decision?

      • 5 TheBigN October 30, 2009 at 9:57 pm

        A lot of shows with slice of life elements tend to have character that apparently fit “moe”, so it could be a “victim of circumstance” thing. At the same time, I don’t think of ARIA, Kino’s Journey, or Haibane Renmei as having “moe” elements in the slightest, but I guess that’s neither here nor there.😛

  4. 6 MrMayat November 4, 2009 at 12:22 am

    I don’t have a top 5, but rather a top 5 of their respective genres. (SOL, Action, Comedy, etc) It plays out differently according to my current mood, but usually I’m in the mood for slice-of-life.🙂

  5. 7 watch anime November 25, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Your list says very obvious things about you. You like cute girls, mid-tempo pace, and general fuzziness.


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,234 hits

