‘Music Reflecting Yui’, or ‘Something Vaguely K-On!-related…’

By TheBigN

If anything, this might give you a look into how bizarre my mind can be sometimes.

It took one very well-done Hidamari Sketch MAD (please watch on 480p for best effect) video to bring my attention to the sub-genre of music that apparently is Shibuya-kei two-years ago-ish through the magic that is capsule.  Besides that band, which I don’t feel like I know that well at all , I haven’t been listening to many other artists that “fit” into the amalgamation of electropop, jazz, bossa nova, and other influences that help make up Shibuya-kei (and if you wanted to know more about the music style as well as some of the artists that make it up, someone like wah or marxy would be a much better person to talk to). But thanks to capsule, I’ve been more likely to try to But thanks to capsule I got introduced to Hazel Nuts Chocolate, a move which I’m still trying to figure out if it was a good thing or not.

The solo effort by is… interesting to say the least. The efforts and experiments of Yuppa, HNC’s creator, end up being hit or miss for me, but always manage to remain interesting to listen to in one capacity or another. And the styles in her songs vary from rocking to popping to channeling her inner P-MODEL to dabbling in hoedowns, so there’s always something there. But one thing that I get form her efforts is some sincerity in her enjoyment in making music, which is always a plus from me.

The thing is, her earlier work kinda reminds me of K-On!!‘s Yui Hirasawa as a character, strangely enough. Never mind that the music that she would want to make with Houkago Tea Time would be more of the directly rocking kind than something less accessible as Hazel Nuts Chocolate puts out. But the music of HNC fits Yui in a way that is more like the like the overall feel of her character.  The music sounds generally positive, a little loopy and silly, and maybe more childish than would be expected? Her track “Hello” from her album Cute seems to be a nice idea of this (plus video!):

To me, when I see that or hear things like “Love + Piece + Ice Cream!” or “ポコポン探検隊” or “Swing Life“, I can see Yui as a character in them, as if that’s the best way to really quantify her.  To me, they so totally reflect the inner state of her mind. And while there are definitely more aspects of her, these pieces working as a general blueprint work just fine for me. If that makes sense.

Are there any musician’s or musical styles outside of an anime that strike you as fitting a specific anime character so well?

The Yui in my head is sorta like this.

The Yui in my head is sorta like this. By hajime-ill-1st: http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?mode=medium&illust_id=10697375

5 Responses to “‘Music Reflecting Yui’, or ‘Something Vaguely K-On!-related…’”


  1. 1 21stcenturydigitalboy May 24, 2010 at 4:42 am

    But you know… the one who writes HTT’s embarrassing lyrics is Mio >.> not that I don’t get you.

    I’ve had that feeling of connecting music to characters or just works themselves. You know, The Sky Crawlers has a pretty nice Kawai Kenji OST but when I watch the movie, I totally want to destroy the soundtrack and replace it entirely with Mark Lanegan music. His songs kept coming into my head at various appropriate scenes, and I almost just want to make a video of the movie with an audio track of nothing but his songs lol. That’s not quite the same thing though I guess.

    I dunno, I could probably do a follow-up post to this.

    • 2 TheBigN May 24, 2010 at 8:45 am

      On Mio: I was going to note about the lyrics and titles of the songs as well as something that’s Mio’s realm. However, I doubt that the music she’d create for that music would be something like this. And I added and italicized a line that I forgot to write down in the first place: That these songs to me reflect Yui’s state of mind most of the time. While Mio’s would probably be sunshine and rainbows, I also think they’d be grounded a little bit more. Yui would probably let herself fly and be cool with that. :3

  2. 3 wah May 24, 2010 at 10:35 am

    >>(and if you wanted to know more about the music style as well as some of the artists that make it up, wah would be a much better person to talk to)

    I know nothing about Shibuya-kei, you’re better off linking Marxy :S

  3. 4 TheBigN May 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I did just now, and I know that he’s an awesome source on it as well. But I’m still putting you in there, as you’re one of the few people I know that listens to a lot and posts about your enjoyment about them. If not on your blog, then on other areas that you write on.😛

  4. 5 Yi June 4, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Yea I think it might be the kind of childish, fun, and light music that kind of feels like Yui.


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 957,291 hits

