Another badass reason to wear a long white coat, and other things…

Soooooooo…

It’s been a while.

I’m a doctor in name now, and I’m currently plunging into the strenuous world of residency. So much so that it’s a little hard to do things like watch anime (which I do in spurts), or write about it. But I’m starting to get into the pace of hospital work better, so hopefully there shouldn’t be a three-month writing layoff again as there has been here.  After getting a long white coat, you sort of get an idea of what it takes to keep one, which I hope Hakase and Hououin Okabe Rintarou learn throughout their goals as scientists.

I do approve of the mad scientist hands in pockets pose. I try to do that as much as I can.

The dynamic duo. Picture by shinako (laeseperanza): http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?mode=medium&illust_id=18866656


In other news, I made a brief drop in at Otakon this year on Friday and Sunday. Not knowing how my call schedule would work for this weekend was a little nerve-wracking, as the risk of me not being able to go at all while wasting the registration fee was a strong possibility. I managed to sort of luck out, as I had the night shift on Friday and Saturday. Taking time to enjoy things to the fullest, I arrived on Friday, spent some hours waiting for a Shinkai autograph (he’s a cool, down to earth dude), watched parts of panels, and managed to hook up and say hey to most of the people who I wanted to see again. After that, it was a quick run back to work where I had an eventful Friday night, leaving me dead tired and prioritizing getting rest over probably sleeping in panels on Saturday. Saturday night was still tiring, but I was able to make it back on Sunday for the last hours of the convention. Alas, I had no time for karaoke, but I did manage to meet up with more long-time seen friends, and catch some more half-panels or so.

And I did take some amount of pictures throughout as well.

The Madoka contingent of cosplayers were strong this year.

The Madoka contingent of cosplayers were strong this year.

And with work, it’s been a time trying to play catch up regarding anime this season as well. I’m still trying to finish up series that I started last season, and I’ve only really stepped my toe into Yuru Yuri for the moment (as if you expected any different from me, show-choice-wise. :P). But life is good. And there’ll definitely be more talk about actual shows for me next time.

2 Responses to “Another badass reason to wear a long white coat, and other things…”


  1. 1 Ryan August 17, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Good to hear you’re doing well and getting comfortable with the pace. I cannot imagine residency being very kind on one’s time tables, but I guess that makes your time more precious, and what you do get a chance to want more crucial.. ^ ^ Keep at it!

  2. 2 Martin August 18, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Congrats on your new job/vocation – I meet doctors on a regular basis at work and overall they work damned hard and shoulder an enormous responsibility. Hats off to you guys, seriously. Glad to hear it’s working out well.

    It’s also awesome that you found time to get to Otakon…it’s something that we in the UK can’t really experience. Ayacon’s coming up this weekend and as fun as it’ll be, it won’t be on the same scale!

    I did get chance to meet Shinkai at a film screening once though and yeah, he’s a really pleasant and modest guy. I can’t wait to see his new movie.

    Anyway, it’s good to know all’s well in your new professional position of kicking butt and saving lives. All the best buddy. ^_^


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,252 hits

