The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Alpha Polls 5-8 “Analysis”

By TheBigN

Second verse, same as the first. The songs here don’t grab me as much as the first set, but there are about 240 more songs to get through, so hey.


BAR1P5

Platinum Disco (Nisemonogatari ED 3)

This was sort of the heir apparent to the rolling behemoth that is Renai Circulation, and Yuka Iguchi does a good job at trying to bring disco back. A valiant effort at least. It lacks the magic that the former has though, and it might just be because of the lack of a tuba in this one. Nor does the instrumental break work too well here. That being said, it’s a crazy earworm. Since were just talking about the music, you want to separate it from the OP animation, but that’s not a bad thing here either.

GO! GO! MANIAC (K-ON!! OP1)

Of all of the OPs and EDs that the show brings us, this could be one of the weaker ones. And what I mean by it’s hard to get into as much as the others. There’s a lot more soul and “jazz” in this one than the power that other songs bring, but the jerky chorus, interesting rhythm and key changes (especially in the last third of the song) can be “too different” sometimes, and it doesn’t help that Aki Toyosaki’s Yui here is a little too into it, making her voice annoying in some ways, which I couldn’t say is the case in most of her other vocal turns for HTT.

Which do I want to win? Platinum Disco
Which do I think will win? Platinum Disco
Why? It’s the most tolerable of the two. “GO! GO! MANIAC” is not a bad song, but it can get annoying pretty damn quickly. Disco lives on at least for another round or two. I would hope that backlash doesn’t play a factor here as well, but you never know.

BAR1P6

Yume no Shima Shinen Kouen (Paranoia Agent OP)

If this is someone’s first taste of Susumu Hirasawa, this might be one of his quintessential pieces in terms of the electronic background, the unusual melodic strain (almost atonal) and the unusual way he ties his vocals to his music, if that makes sense. It can end up being pretty engrossing in one way, off-putting and bizarre for people more used to “normal stuff”, and just a distraction for others. But when tied together to the opening, it makes for a powerfully arresting experience.

World End (Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion R2 OP 2)

To me, this song is just “there”. It’s not bad. It’s not good. It’s a solid rock song that doesn’t really have me go anywhere with it. And I would be fine if I didn’t have to listen to this song for a long while. Doesn’t really leave an impression on me.

Which do I want to win? Yume no Shima Shinen Kouen
Which do I think will win? Yume no Shima Shinen Kouen
Why? ADVENTURE! Imagination? While “World End” isn’t bad, it doesn’t give more, and “Yume no Shima Shinen Kouen” does, whether or not that’s good or bad.  I think people will give this a look for a round or two, at least until an easier to listen to song comes along.

BAR1P7

oath sign (Fate/Zero OP1)

Like “World End”, this song is just there. Even with the string instrument flourishes, this seems like just a typical rock pop song. LISA tries her damndest to move this song, but it doesn’t register a lot to me.

Re-sublimity (Kannazuki no Miko OP)

I think this was my first taste of KOTOKO and I’ve Sound, with its trance sound and crazy song titles (Re-sublimity? Really?) as one of my college roommates would continue to play this song over and over again. It wasn’t my cup of tea initially (probably because of so much computer/synth), but the driving beat helps.

Which do I want to win? Re-sublimity
Which do I think will win? oath sign
Why? Popularity, in both style and show. “oath sign” is I think more accessible of the two given their respective genres, and it helps that Fate/Zero had people talking in ways that Kannazuki no Miko didn’t.

BAR1P8

Resuscitated Hope (Gosick ED)

This is the first time I’ve heard this song, though I’ve heard about the show, and Lisa Komine’s voice and range seems suited to this “wannabe” subdued gothic rock song. Again, it’s not bad, but nothing that I need to put on repeat for. Not enough imagination, I guess, as the music tries too hard, and the song suffers as a result, I think.

Yakusoku wa Iranai (The Vision of Escaflowne OP)

This is “old school” Maaya Sakamoto, and probably too old school for a lot of voters here. But the 3/4 time (which is another of my biases), the medieval-Europe-by-way-of-Yoko-Kanno track is an oldie but goodie. Synth-driven, but powered by strings, the music pulls Maaya’s still developing vocals into a nice harmony. Of course nostalgia notes that it was the start of a beautiful partnership, but it was a pretty solid combination in general.

Which do I want to win? Yakusoku wa Iranai
Which do I think will win? Resuscitated Hope
Why?  Because voters are silly geese Familiarity. “Yakusoku wa Iranai” is dated by its time (hence the synth influence I think) and Gosick is newer and fresher in people’s minds than Escaflowne. Not to mention “Resuscitated Hope” sounds more like the “typical” sort of rock-ish work we would hear in anime today, for better or worse. Not like I’m happy  about that though.

Until next time. And again, don’t forget to vote for what you like.

1 Response to “The Anime Music Tournament 2013 Bracket Alpha Polls 5-8 “Analysis””


  1. 1 omo August 2, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    Damn silly geese!

    But yeah, it’s really just production value and how it’s dated. But I think over the years the song has evolved from iteration to covers to unplugged alternatives that it never really dies. It’s periodic but still refreshing. Not saccharine for a 16yo.


Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,248 hits

