A Singles Appreciation Day Message From TheBigN

Recently, based on my watchings of ef, true tears and Tokyo Marble Chocolate, I found that I’m not enjoying these shows as much as others have. You could say that a common theme between the three is a focus on romance, be it the beginnings, the endings, and everything else that comes with it. I could say that it’s due to no real experience in matters of the heart, and I’m surely missing and important part of the human condition by not pursuing that sort of thing, which ties into why I’m not enjoying these shows as much as I should (or I could just be strange like that). But I’m fine with where I am now, and I’m not looking for a love from someone else anytime soon. And I liked works like Honey and Clover and 5cm, so it’s probably how the situation is explained (including the use of universal feelings), how I relate to the characters, or some other crap like that.

Am I’m missing out? Definitely. I’m sure that I’ll never be able to fully understand myself and some anime without knowing how it is to simply be loved or to love someone. Yet I still don’t mind being single at this moment, and others who are alone for some reason or another shouldn’t either as long as you follow this tenet demonstrated by this comic:

This is why she’s awesome.

As Cho Marisa shows, loving someone else isn’t all important to survive. Just having love (and an awesome body) is enough. :3

Happy Valentine’s Day/Singles Appreciation Day.❤

8 Responses to “A Singles Appreciation Day Message From TheBigN”


  1. 1 RmX February 14, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Happy Singles’ to you too. This life is so much less complicated. =D

  2. 2 mrmayat February 14, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Having been in a couple of “relationships”, (and failed miserably) I can’t blame you for not diving straight into the game. Love is complexing/perplexing.

    So I guess it’s a much better(worse?) viewing experience when you’ve experienced love firsthand and see it replayed in the small screen.

    Since I’m not planning on re-joining the dating scene anytime soon, I’m blissfully enjoying my little luxuries. (Until love comes a knocking, that is)

    “Happy Valentine’s Day/Singles Appreciation Day”
    Back at ‘ya.

  3. 5 Martin February 14, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Meh, I’ve still got my health and I get along with my family…I’m grateful for just that so I think of romance as something that’s nice to have if the opportunity arises but it’s not the be-all and end-all.

    If there’s one thing romance is good for, it’s produced some great music and movies over the years!

  4. 6 Owen February 15, 2008 at 5:32 am

    I request sauce on the Cho Marisa. D:

  5. 7 TheBigN February 15, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    RmX: I wouldn’t say it’s less complicated, but single life is complicated in a different way.😛

    mrmayat: “Love is complexing/perplexing.” True dat. Glad that I haven’t really thought about it too much though.🙂

    Totali: I agree. Otome wa Boku ni Koishiteru is a pretty decent show.😛

    kpimmel: Thanks for the pic.

    Martin: Agreed. I wouldn’t mind experiencing it if I have the chance, but I’m fine where I’m at as well.

    Owen: I already let you know thanks to the wonders of IRC, but for others who don’t know, use Google and “Zayaku Menace”. Cho Marisa is always fun stuff. :3


  1. 1 A Meditation On Anime Sex for St Valentine’s « The Animanachronism Trackback on February 14, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Leave any thoughts here.

The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 956,248 hits

