The Things K-On! Can Influence…

By TheBigN

So while looking at the slew of K-On! pics that have cropped up from the show’s start, I managed to come across this one:

 

ろんりくうぐんっ!by 目下

ろんりくうぐんっ!by 目下

Which I think is awesome. Why?

When I saw Yui’s full name (Yui Hirasawa or 平沢唯), my first thought was along the lines of “She has the same family name as Susumu Hirasawa (平沢進)”. He of course being the composer for things like the Berserk anime and some of Satoshi Kon’s works.  From the music I’ve heard from him, he’s always had one of the more unusual and unique approaches to music that I know of, and the music (electronic pop with various ethnic influences? ) usually tends to be hit rather than miss for me.

He also did some group work, most notably P-Model whom he started and ran for 20 years. When you hear some of their music, it makes sense how they could be inspiration for other acts like POLYSICS. Either way, on the group’s last album, Music Industrial Wastes ~P-Model or Die, came a song called “Logic Air Force (論理空軍)”.

Which just happens to be what the above picture is called, and you can see where the artist got his inspiration for it. While I didn’t go as far as 目下  did in tying Yui’s name to one of Susumu Hirasawa’s songs, it’s cool to know that I wasn’t the only person thinking about their names. And it’s even cooler to see it represented in a picture like this. It’s silly, I know, but what’s wrong with that? 😛

17 Responses to “The Things K-On! Can Influence…”


  1. 1 phossil April 13, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I didnt know either..

  2. 2 Squidworth April 29, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    This is really cool. I didn’t even pick up on the names thing… what sort of half-ass anime fan am I?! ;_;

    Anyway, nice blog man! I’ll have to come back here again sometimes ^^

  3. 3 komidol May 2, 2009 at 3:43 am

    Things K-ON can influence:

    Anything.


  1. 1 Akiba-Station » The Power of the Internet and K-ON Fandom Trackback on April 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm
  2. 2 @zaitcev ani-nouto.animeblogger.net should refer to bignanime.wordpress.com - Twitoaster Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm
  3. 3 Anime Diet » K-Ommerce Trackback on May 28, 2009 at 1:47 am

Leave any thoughts here.




The Authors (with others, too.)

The Good Old Days

Blog Stats

  • 982,376 hits